Last Updated: Sep 27, 2013
GOV DOC LC 30.27:G 28
Genealogies Cataloged by the Library of Congress since 1986
(This is a print resource in our Government Documents collection).
Where should I start?
These resources can help you start your genealogical research. Be sure to ask their staff for help.
- American Memory Project
"A digital library of historic maps, photos, documents, audio and video" from the Library of Congress
- Arizona Archives Online
A database describing the archival collections of the Special Collections of Northern Arizona University, Arizona State University, the University of Arizona, and the Arizona State Museum.
- Arizona Memory Project
"The Arizona Memory Project provides access to the wealth of primary sources in Arizona libraries, archives, museums and other cultural institutions. Visitors to the site will find some of the best examples of government documents, photographs, maps, and objects that chronicle Arizona's past and present."
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
"This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP)."
- Democracy Starts Here--National Archives Video
An informative and inspirational video about what America's records could mean to you.
- Genealogy Resources from the National Archives
Links to records from many government agencies useful to genealogical researchers.
- Library of Congress Local History & Genealogy Reading Room
Includes guides, bibliographies, indexes to digital collections, American Memory and much more!
- National Archives & Records Administration
"The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper." See link to Genealogy & family History Resources.
- National Archives--Pacific Region Office
23123 Cajalco Road
Perris, CA 92570-7298
Fax: (951) 956-2049
- Resources for Family Folklife and History
Resources from the American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress
- Veterans History Project
Multimedia collection of historical materials and personal histories of veterans compiled by the Library of Congress' American Folklife Center. You can add your story!
AWC/NAU Yuma Academic Library
P.O. Box 929
Yuma, AZ 85366
Voice: (928) 344-7768
or (928) 344-7777
Text-A-Librarian (928) 237-3650Send Email